RSS Feed

Meals of the Week: October 3-6

Posted on

This week I went for easy, simple dinners. Also this week the weather is starting to reach the cool temps, so soups are my go to for quick and easy. Three of the recipes for this week came from this months Cooking Light. The months of Oct. and Nov. are always the best issues of Cooking Light, in my opinion. I highly recommend their magazines for great, healthy recipes. 

Monday: Pizza with Pear-Prosciutto salad

Honey-Wheat Pizza with Pear-Prosciutto Salad Recipe

This recipe does have you making your own dough. I have gone a step easier and bought pizza dough. I purchased pizza dough at a local Italian Market but any local grocery should carry a frozen pizza dough. I may on the weekend some time try making my dough but right now bought dough will work. 

Tuesday: Lemon-Parmesan Broccoli

Lemon-Parmesan Broccoli Recipe

This recipe is actually a side but I will be making a lemon linguine to go with this. Once I make it, I will post what I did and how it comes out. This is a first time recipe and I will be winging it in some parts. If you’re interested in the outcome, stay tuned for results. 

Wednesday: Loaded Potato Soup

Loaded Potato Soup Recipe

I am a HUGE fan of soups in general but potato soup is by far my favorite. I first made this soup last fall when it was published in last Fall’s Cooking Light issue. This recipe is now a MUST every Fall/Winter season. Just a FYI, if you decide to make this make more than what recipe calls for. I say this because it is ten times better the next day, so you WILL want leftovers. 

Thursday: Lazy Day

For the past couple weeks my husband as been working the night shift. Now I don’t know if any of you are like me but when he works late I don’t feel up to cooking dinner every night. So, I like choosing one day in the week to have a “lazy day”. This basically means leftovers (possibly potato soup) or Peanut Butter and Jelly night (kids ALWAYS love that). It will all depend on my mood. 

Friday: Spinach, Pasta and Pea Soup

Spinach, Pasta, and Pea Soup Recipe

I saw this soup and immediately thought “yum-o”! I mean LOOK at it! How could you not think that? I shall hope it turns out as yummy as it looks. 

Dessert: Eileen’s Best Banana Bread 

Eileen's Best Banana Bread Recipe

If you’re a fan of banana bread I highly recommend try this recipe. It is the by far the best banana bread recipe I have used. What also makes it great is it isn’t all that unhealthy for you. It is made with whole wheat flour as well as has flaxseed meal. I have used this recipe A LOT! 

Since four of these recipes are new to me, I will be posting a review on the recipe. With my opinions as well as photos of how it comes out. I will try my best to get them posted that afternoon or night. I also going to promise I will be more update on my weekly meal posts. Life gets in the way sometimes, so bare with me. Have a fabulous week and happy eating! In healthy, yummy ways, of course. 

About sulovebug

I am a 31 year old wife and mother. Have a BA in Early Childhood Education from Arizona State University. Born and raised in Mesa, AZ but currently reside in Long Beach, CA. Where I am a stay-at-home mom for the time being.

2 responses »

  1. These look so good!!!!
    And I am so impressed you can cook all of these and get it on the table!
    xo

    Reply
  2. I LOVE potato soup! And you’re totally right! the next day it is sooo much better! YUM!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

